She’s A Devil In A Blue Dress


Having found his feet within the music industry, exploring the genres and creating a network with established players along the way, Doneao feels the time has come to step out from behind the scenes. Filming a video to accompany Devil in a Blue Dress, the hugely successful hit within the UK Funky scene……

It’s an early start for a Sunday morning with London’s Stanza club as the destination. This would usually bring the thought of an after party to mind, but today its all lights, camera, action. With everybody tired from the social activity within the past 12 hours, the only lay in on this day, seems to have been granted to the sun.

Arriving on set shortly before the hours of 10am, wardrobe, hair and make up shortly arrive with no delays, and an instant start is made on the transformation to make the temptress of the day and Doneao is more than impressed with his options of outfit. He decides on Suave & Chic, a winning choice every time.

Filming commences soon after midday and Doneao is pulling out his skanks in the bank for the camera. The director even has a shot dedicated to his feet!! Who knows, he may have been taking visual notes to try out in front of the mirror at home…….

Proving to be thirsty work, a break is called soon after an hour with orders taken for lunch, then its back to Doneao skanking out for the cameras again. By the time his shot is finished it 3pm, all the cast members have arrived and our Devil in the Blue Dress is ready. At this time, any man would think himself lucky to be scheduled for seduction by this temptress. But first he would have to wait…… Within the midst of lunch, there are changes of clothes taking place and a photo shoot is underway. Doneao is taking full advantage of the wardrobe in full entirety.

As late afternoon drifts into the evening hours, all stomachs are full and cameo appearance members present, its time to wrap up this beautiful creation. As shooting resumes within a party scene, the smiles are definitely not just for camera. Although this is work for all on Doneao’s path to success, the vibe depicted is surely real and will be watched back by those present, as the day Doneao entertained us and showed us a good time. Although the DJ did seem a bit restricted on his selection……

I managed to catch up with Doneao throughout the course of the day to discuss his road so far within his music career. This is what he had to say:

We’re here today filming Devil in a Blue Dress. Tell me a bit about the song’s background.

I originally released the track to DJs back in November last year. I gave them both an instrumental and a vocal to allow them to play their preference. I found that a lot of them originally played the instrumental, and then the one with the vocals started to creep in later.

What was the response you received during that time?

The response was huge! I released another track last July called “I” and “When You’re Alone”, but “Devil” seems to have really hit them. There’s been play listing on mainstream radio stations, so for me it’s a phenomenal success from the underground, especially as an independent artist and having to take care of my own marketing etc.

I believe your label is called Zephron Entertainment?

It’s more of a production company. It’s a small company and at the moment I can only look after myself. I would like to build on it, but our first release is going to be “African Warrior”. But I’ve had to start from the bottom. I managed to push “Devil” to a point where 1xtra approached me, but Choice FM and other commercial stations were from me working hard on the streets. I try not to push things in people’s faces though and I think that contributed a lot to “Devil” blowing up more than “I”. Simply because I let the people choose and there was more hype for “Devil”, so more people have got involved.

You’ve been on the music scene for a while haven’t you?

Yeah. Since I was 19. Going back to the times of UK Garage. My first proper tune was “Bounce” which was right in the beginning stages of my creativity. I knew when I was 6 that I wanted to do music and then when I turned 16, my dad helped me get my first studio. Then I had to really find myself musically, and “Bounce” was the first finished tune that I really ever made. But you make a whole heap of tunes and you think they’re ok, but they’re more like preparation. “Bounce” really showed me that I could make tracks that people liked, but I hadn’t homed in on my creativity, I still had to study myself. Not taking anything away from “Bounce”. It was a good experience and got me in the limelight, but I would advise people that before releasing a track, it’s a good idea to have more ready. Because if it bombs you got more behind you, and if it blows, people are gonna wanna hear more and I wasn’t prepared……There were about 3 years between my first 2 singles and during that time I really got to learn my craft.

So would you say that “I” was the produce of a more matured Doneao?

I didn’t actually produce “I”, and I don’t really work with other producers, being a producer myself. But I would say I homed in on my craft before “I”, while making Grime. Then when I starting making House, I found some real inspiration within my creativity, because “I” was my first House track and I just wanted to keep making more.

Where do you find the inspirations when making your House tracks?

When funky first started to come about, I wanted to know more about it and I started to research House music and its structures, and I learnt that even Garage originated from House. Then I realised there were more sub genres such as Acid, Dance, Electro and I felt that this is the genre where I really wanted to be, reflecting on the fact that I originated within Garage. Not having produced “I” myself and it being totally different to anything that I had made, I wanted to see what I could come up with and “Devil in a Blue Dress” and a few other tracks is really what I got. So even though I’ve been on the scene for a while, I’ve been finding myself and where I belong during that time.

With Devil already being so successful on the underground, where do you see the single going after the official release?

All the way hopefully!! I can only hope to get a number one from it. I’ll push as hard as I can to see how far it can go. If it doesn’t reach number one, I can only hope that it does the best it can do. I’m working hard for it, the whole team are. Anyone that’s interested in my music, I’ll be willing to meet the demand.

We saw you at Glastonbury earlier on this year. What was that experience like for you?

That was heavy man!! But it weren’t just me. It was me and my band, we’re a team. If I get signed, I would like to be signed with them. But it was a great experience. It was the first time we played and all the equipment was like new and the live sound system. We’ve done other live gigs, but that was the biggest.

Is this the first time you’ve done a video too?

This is my first solo video. I’ve done cameos here and there, but this one is all about me. I’ve never really let people see my face, but this tune got so big, I knew that if I wanted to continue promoting it, I’d have to step out from behind the scenes and into the spotlight.

How are you finding the experience?

I’m embracing it at the moment, it’s a bit different from what I’m used to doing, but there’s going to be other things as well like magazine interviews etc but I’m used to staying in the studio and putting tunes out. That’s it. I know how to market myself indirectly, but not in the spotlight. This is the first part of the whole experience for me personally, but the second stage for the single.

So what can we expect in the future?

I’m due to release another 2 singles which I’ve already had good responses for from DJs. I also done a few PA’s in Aiya Napa and Funky seems to be really smashing it over there alongside Niche. But those tracks are still new on the underground so it may be a while before they become as mainstream as “Devil”. In about 3 months time, I think I’ll be in a better position to see what those tracks are really doing, and how I’m truthfully finding the whole experience.

Leave a Reply

